Our Wedding Day (Part 2)

The First Look

(The featured image shows a little detail on my veil, jewels hanging from the tips.)

One thing I really liked about our wedding day is that everything was really well spaced out, so we had some alone time with just the husband and I, and also family time too. Nothing felt rushed (at least as much as a wedding day can be). Our photographers were practically wedding coordinators themselves, helping to craft the perfect wedding day. They had a knack for capturing some candid moments, which is precisely why we hired them. As a rule, I detest awkwardly posed wedding photos of people standing next to each other. What kind of story does that tell? A boring one.

Traditionally, it’s bad luck to see the bride before the ceremony, but I–ever the pragmatist–thought that this was the stupidest and most inconvenient tradition I’d ever heard of. Keeping this tradition would simply scramble the day’s schedule and photos ops. Forget that! Thankfully, “First Looks” were rather trendy in the wedding industry at the time. The “first look” was a way to make our first glimpse of each other something special, with some candid moments built into the scene, while enabling us to move on with the rest of the pictures of the bridal party and family.

I don’t know where I got the idea of a picnic (probably pinterest), but I was determined to make the first look not about the “look” but rather a moment for the two of us. While we were dating, we always liked our wine nights and this was sort of a mini-recreation of an activity that we did together as a bonding exercise. Plus we got a few bites to eat, which is good because I feel like I hardly ate anything all day.

So I set off down a little trail, with a little basket in hand.

A basket of goodies.
A basket of goodies.

As I round a bend, I can see Brett’s back facing away from me.

Here we see a husband-to-be in his natural habitat.
Here we see a husband-to-be in his natural habitat.

I approach, get nice and close, he turns around, and surprise!

Peekaboo!
Peekaboo!

We got over our awkwardness and laughed a few nervous laughs. We settled down for our picnic on a blue blanket, popped the champagne, and poured out some celebration. We used the same glasses that my parents used on their wedding day; these beautiful silver chalices.

Pouring the champagne
Pouring the champagne
06emily-husband-first-look23
The insides of the cups have a gold-colored lining. Our reflections within.
"Oh darling, you're hilarious!"
“Oh darling, you’re hilarious!”

And then our photographers left us alone for a little while to eat, snack, and talk. Who knows what we talked about. Probably small talk. It was nice.

All too soon, it was time to continue the day. Our photographers returned, and together we walked to this beautiful little red bridge where we met our wedding party.

Close-up of my beautiful bouquet.
Close-up of my beautiful bouquet.
Something blue.
Something blue.
Come here while I smooch you.
Come here while I smooch you.
My bridesmaid & cousin, Whit
My beautiful bridesmaid & cousin, Whit
My two handsome brothers as groomsmen.
My two handsome brothers as groomsmen.
A sweet moment with one of Husband's daughters.
A sweet moment with one of Husband’s daughters.
Altogether, now. Our entire wedding party. Both my husband's and I's siblings, and one cousin.
Altogether, now. Our entire wedding party. Both my husband’s and I’s siblings, and one cousin.

Oh, I’m a bundle of nerves, but we’re ready to get married! Let’s head to the site of the ceremony!

All photos taken by Midwest Lifeshots

Leave Your Thoughts

